The 5 Daily Prayers


Worship is common to all religions. What differs is only the manner and style of worship. That which is unique in Islamic mode of worship is that it contains features from the mode of prayers found in other religions. Some people pray to God in a standing posture and some in a sitting posture. In some religions people remember God by kneeling to Him, while others bow down to Him. Some stand before Him with folded arms, and others with arms hanging at their sides. In short there is no single mode of worship common to all religions.

All mosques are frequented five times a day for congregational prayers, however prayers can also be performed at home.


God says in the Quran:

"Verily, Prayer prevents the worshipper from indulging in anything that is undignified or indecent". Sura Al-Ankabut (Ch. 29. V 46).

The five daily prayers are:

Salat al-Fajr (Dawn prayer), which consist of two units (each unit of prayer is called a rak`ah);

Salat al-Zuhr (Midday prayer) consisting of four units;

Salat al-`Asr (Afternoon prayer) consisting of four units;

Salat al-Maghrib (Dusk prayer) which consist of three units;

Salat al-`Isha (Night prayer) consisting of four units.